Cheetah Girls: Growl Power.

cheetah2.batch.bat

Sassy songs, animal print, and Raven Symone: what’s not to love?

I was a mere eleven years old when Cheetah Girls premiered on the Disney Channel.

It was awesome.

I sang, I quoted, I envied, and I (obviously) made up dances alone in my living room.

And now I find myself (once again alone in my living room), wondering where all the awesome, empowered girl groups have gone.

Where are the Cheetah Girls of this world? The Destiny’s Child, The Spice Girls, The TLC?

In the last decade the closest thing we have had to an empowered girl group (that achieved major success) was The Pussycat Dolls.

awkward.batch.bat

The Cheetah Girls were the epitome of good role models.

They were four girls who sang songs about their dreams. They did not starve themselves, they did not bare everything for the world to see, and they celebrated their (and everyone’s) differences.

Hell, they ordered Cokes in Spain! (Cheetah Girls 2 – Netflix that.)

It’s no secret that pre-teen girls can often be a little obsessive with their celebrity idols. This in itself is not a bad thing, but it is when these young women have no positive famous female influences on their lives.

The music industry is not stupid. They target an age group that is essentially sponge. They know whatever they throw down, so long as it is in flashy packaging, young teenagers will pick up.

I hate talking about Miley Cyrus, good or bad, but I have to say is this: I would be FREAKING OUT if my daughter wanted to emulate her.

No, this is not a Miley hate post. I simply miss my younger years filled with choreographed dances, uplifting lyrics, and girl power. I simply wish that the pre-teen girls of today could have the same pop culture surround them.

I mean, can you imagine a song being released today boasting the lyrics:

“I don’t wanna be like Cinderella / Sitting in a dark, cold, dusty cellar / Waiting for somebody to come and set me free / I don’t wanna be like someone waiting / For a handsome prince to come and save me / On I will survive / Unless somebody’s on my side / Don’t wanna depend on no one else / I’d rather rescue myself.”

Booyah.batch.bat

And in a world where children are constantly bombarded by images, videos, ads, and commentary on pop culture, it makes a tremendous difference who is in the spotlight.

If all young girls are exposed to women singing “Don’t cha wish your girlfriend was hot like me,” don’t be surprised if their morals become slightly skewed.

If all young girls are exposed to women in bra and underwear singing “I don’t need a man,” don’t be surprised if they are cross-eyed from confusion.

Unfortunately I have little influence on the major record label companies. And as a result, I have no answers to this (fairly ginormous) issue.

So I suppose this is just a nostalgic post; reminiscing on and celebrating the girl groups that gave me a big ol’ dose of girl power.

So with that, I leave you with 3:58 minutes of cheetahlicious awesomeness.

cheetah.batch.nat

Leave a Reply

